Authors at Abbey's

Collection by Abbey's Bookshop • Last updated 2 days ago

479 
Pins
 • 
79 
Followers

Looking for a special gift? Many authors have walked through our doors (and browsed our shelves) at 131 York Street in the heart of Sydney.

Abbey's Bookshop
Anna Downes was in a safe place at Abbey's (standing on our Authors' Star) for her scintillating novel about a struggling actress who takes a a live-in job working for a wealthy family on their luxurious coastal property in France. Then things gets weird… #thesafeplace @anna_downes_writer @affirmpress #books #aussieauthors # crimefiction #readers #bookstagram #authorsatabbeys #abbeysbookshop #131york #sydney

The Safe Place by Anna Downes

Available in: Paperback. A gripping suspense novel with a women's fiction edge, this will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty, Sally Hepworth and The Rumour

Vakov Fukasawa used to be a Reaper: a bio-enhanced soldier fighting for the Harmony, against a brutal invading empire. He's still fighting now, on a different battlefield: taking on stormtech.  @hachetteaus #sciencefictionbooks #spaceopera #readers #bookstagram #authorsatabbeys #abbeysbookshop #131york #sydney

Stormblood by Jeremy Szal

Available in: Paperback. A vibrant, compelling and talented new voice in SFF: alien technology, addictive upgrades, and an ex-soldier determined to protect his family . . .

Few understand superannuation well and the industry has revelled in its opacity for 30 years.  @braggsenator #finance #superannuation #readers #bookstagram #authorsatabbeys #abbeysbookshop #131york #sydney

Bad Egg by Andrew Bragg

Available in: Paperback. This book was written whilst Andrew has been in the Parliament, principally between July 2019 and February 2020.Few understand superannuation well and the industry has revelled in its opacity for 30 years.

A book that explores the grit and euphoria of combat sport as it digs deep into our collective relationship with physical power, masculinity and violence.  #daveybrowne #australiansport #australianboxing #readers #bookstagram #authorsatabbeys #abbeysbookshop #131york #sydney

After the Count by Stephanie Convery

Available in: Paperback. When Sydney boxer Davey Browne died in 2015 after being knocked out in the final round of a title fight that he was about to win, boxing once again came under intense public scrutiny. For journalist Stephanie Convery, the...

Man Raises Boy is book from the front lines of modern fatherhood. This book is an insightful and necessary call to arms for all new fathers, a guiding hand in the maze of love, guilt, anxiety and joy in fatherhood - and an ordinary dad's beautifully moving love letter to his son.  #allenandunwin #books #aussieauthors #modernparenting  #readers #authorsatabbeys #abbeysbookshop #131york #sydney

Man Raises Boy by Rob Sturrock

Available in: Paperback. A book from the front lines of modern fatherhood.Welcome to Rob Sturrock's journey into parenting. Since the birth of his daughter, Rob has been passionate about being an active and present father, but this hasn't...

Pathfinders brings the skilled and diverse work of trackers not only to the forefront of law enforcement history but to the general shared histories of black and white Australia.  #books #aussieauthors #australianhistory #readers #authorsatabbeys #abbeysbookshop #131york #sydney

Pathfinders by Michael Bennett

Available in: Paperback. The saviour of many and cursed by the wayward, trackers live in the collective memory as one of the few examples where Aboriginal people's skills were sought after in colonial society. Pathfinders brings the work of trackers to...

Despite his short tenure in office, Kennedy shaped the domestic and international direction of the nation for decades to come.   #ianjbickerton #rowmanandlittlefield #books #aussieauthors #biography #readers #bookstagram #authorsatabbeys #abbeysbookshop #131york #sydney

John F Kennedy: A Reference Guide to His Life and Works by Ian James Bickerton

Available in: Hardback. John F. Kennedy: A Reference Guide to His Life and Works cover all aspects of his life and work. Kennedy shaped the domestic and international direction of the nation for decades to come. He is remembered for the hope and...

The story of a federal minister's remarkable reunion with his birth parents.This deeply moving memoir is a testament to the significance of all forms of family in shaping us - and to the potential for love to heal great harm.  #tendoorsdown #books #aussieauthors #autobiography #readers #bookstagram #authorsatabbeys #abbeysbookshop #131york #sydney

Ten Doors Down by Robert Tickner

Available in: Paperback. The story of a federal minister's remarkable reunion with his birth parents.Robert Tickner had always known he was adopted, but had rarely felt much curiosity about his origins. Born in 1951, he had a happy childhood -...

Who is more dangerous – a ruthless enemy or a woman pushed to the edge? Used to fighting her own demons, this is one battle Chrissie is determined not to lose.   #simonschusterau #books #aussieauthors #crimewriters #readers #bookstagram #authorsatabbeys #abbeysbookshop #131york #sydney

Where the Truth Lies by Karina Kilmore

Available in: Paperback. She was slipping away. The further she fell, the closer the clouds seemed to come. Wispy transparent slipstreams of white. Cirrus. Pain smashed her head. Floating ...When investigative journalist Chrissie O'Brian lands...

Police corruption, an investigation that ends in tragedy and the mystery of a little girl's silence - three unconnected events that will prove to be linked by one small town.  The third instalment in the Cormac Reily series is a thrilling read and unputdownable.   #abbeysbookshop #australiancrimefiction

The Good Turn by Dervla McTiernan

Available in: Paperback. The heart-stopping new book in the Cormac Reilly series, by the bestselling author of THE RUIN and THE SCHOLAR.

Inspired by a true story of wartime betrayal, this is a searing, compassionate tale of love and duplicity - and family secrets better left buried.  #abbeysbookshop #australianfiction #allenandunwin

The Deceptions by Suzanne Leal

Available in: Paperback. Moving from wartime Europe to modern day Australia, The Deceptions is a powerful story of old transgressions, unexpected revelations and the legacy of lives built on lies and deceit.Prague, 1943....

Audacious, funny and wonderfully inventive, The Origin of Me is a song to friendship, young love, the joy of imagination and celebrating differences. Young Love, In The Heart, Special Gifts, Inventions, Friendship, Author, Joy, Songs, The Originals

The Origin of Me by Bernard Gallate

Available in: Paperback. After his parents' marriage break-up, Lincoln Locke's 15-year-old life is turned upside down when he's thrust into bachelor-pad living with his father and an exclusive new school. Crestfield Academy offers Lincoln a new set of...

 How could I write about the importance of truth and not tell the whole truth myself?After twenty years spent searching for her biological parents, Susan Hull unexpectedly meets the great. Secret Life, The Secret, Biological Parents, Unconditional Love, In The Heart, Twists, Memoirs, Special Gifts, The Twenties

The Love that Remains by Susan Francis

Available in: Paperback. How could I write about the importance of truth and not tell the whole truth myself?After twenty years spent searching for her biological parents, 52-year-old Susan Hull unexpectedly meets the great...

 'If Jane Austen had to choose between the heart and the pen, what would she do?' At age twenty-eight, Jane Austen should be seeking a suitable husband, but all she wants to do is write. Authors, Writers, York Street, Jane Austen, Special Gifts, Levis, The Twenties, Comedy, Fiction

Jane in Love by Rachel Givney

Available in: Paperback. 'If Jane Austen had to choose between the heart and the pen, what would she do?' At age twenty-eight, Jane Austen should be seeking a suitable husband, but all she wants to do is write. She is forced to take extreme measures...

Abbey's at 131 York Street (next to QVB) is an Aladdin's cave for readers and Sydney's much-loved indie bookshop since 1968 ~ Where ideas grow. Survival Family, Buying Books Online, Harry Potter Wizard, Dark And Twisted, York Street, Crime Fiction, Lost Boys, Red Queen, Red Riding Hood

MEET CHRISTINA HENRY • TUESDAY 10 MAR • 5PM

Abbey's at 131 York Street (next to QVB) is an Aladdin's cave for readers and Sydney's much-loved indie bookshop since 1968 ~ Where ideas grow.

Breakout author of What the Woods Keep, Katya de Becerra returns with a new YA thriller, Oasis. Katya is joined in conversation by Annie Re-Vu) and will be signing her books, What the Woods Keep and Oasis. Buying Books Online, York Street, Crime Fiction, Book Launch, Book Nerd, Bookstagram, Bibliophile, Thriller, Oasis

MEET KATYA DE BECERRA • SATURDAY 15 FEB • 2PM

Abbey's at 131 York Street (next to QVB) is an Aladdin's cave for readers and Sydney's much-loved indie bookshop since 1968 ~ Where ideas grow.

Pinterest