HISTORICAL SYDNEY

Collection by Alain Gargoura

13 
Pins
 • 
147 
Followers
Alain Gargoura
The Old Burial Ground (now occupied by the Sydney Town Hall) was used between September 1792 and 1820, when it officially closed. Its replacement was the Sandhills Cemetery (Devonshire Street Cemetery), which later became the site of Central Railway Station. By the 1840s there were concerns about overcrowding and over the next twenty years a number of alternative locations were considered. In 1862 the government purchased 200 acres of land 'near Homebush on the Railway Line

Cemeteries / Burials Guide

A brief overview of the major sources in our collection that relate to cemeteries.

1890 - Circular Quay, Sydney. Check out the original ferry terminals to Manly and Watsons Bay and the horse-drawn carts as they grace the harbour foreshore to what is now the home to one of Sydney's most iconic buildings, The Opera House.

History - City of Sydney

1890 - Circular Quay, Sydney. Check out the original ferry terminals to Manly and Watsons Bay and the horse-drawn carts as they grace the harbour foreshore to what is now the home to one of Sydney's most iconic buildings, The Opera House.

York St,Sydney in the 1930s.Photo from State Library of NSW.A♥W

York St,Sydney in the 1930s.Photo from State Library of NSW.A♥W

Street scene from Sydney, c1885-1890

Street scene from Sydney, ca. 1885-1890 / photographed by Arthur K. Syer

Format: Photograph Find more detailed information about this photographic collection: acms.sl.nsw.gov.au/item/itemDetailPaged.aspx?itemID=442936 Search for more great images in the State Library's collections: acms.sl.nsw.gov.au/search/SimpleSearch.aspx From the collection of the State Library of New South Wales www.sl.nsw.gov.au

View from the Town Hall tower in Sydney in 1873.Looking across Hyde Park to the Museum and William St.

View from the Town Hall tower in Sydney in 1873.Looking across Hyde Park to the Museum and William St.

The construction of the Sydney Harbour Bridge,from Milsons Point on 6 August 1930. •State Archives of NSW•

The construction of the Sydney Harbour Bridge,from Milsons Point on 6 August 1930. •State Archives of NSW•

Newtown Post Office on the corner of King St and Erskineville Rd in 1900. •State Records of NSW•

Newtown Post Office on the corner of King St and Erskineville Rd in 1900. •State Records of NSW•

The Main Building of the Asylum for Destitute Children in Randwick,in eastern Sydney (year unknown).

The Main Building of the Asylum for Destitute Children in Randwick,in eastern Sydney (year unknown).