When Southbank was just South Melbourne
When Southbank was just South Melbourne - iconic lolly (sweets, candy) manufacturer now demolished-see pin 'waterfront spectacular' book. Big shopping, entertaining (restaurants, casino etc) precinct.
House in Station Street, Camberwell, owned by Miss Mary Anne Campigli, 84. In 1971 the Camberwell council slated the house for compulsory acquisition for a car park development. Miss Campigli then issued a writ claiming the council had no right to acquire her house for a car park. In 1974 the Camberwell council withdrew its claim and the Supreme Court ordered by consent that the council pay Miss Campigli's legal costs.
The Palais de Danse was originally located in St Kilda’s Lower Esplanade, inner southern suburbs of Melbourne. The Palais once stood as a striking piece of interwar architecture. Constructed in 1925, it was designed by the renowned American architect, Walter Burley Griffin (1876-1937), and his wife Marion Griffin (1871-1961). This photo was taken in 1913; today the site is occupied by the Palais Theatre.
[Interior view of the Banquet Hall with balcony and mural, Café Australia, Melbourne, 2] [picture].
Interior view of the Banquet Hall with balcony and mural, Cafe Australia, Melbourne, 2
Kodak Retail Branches in Melbourne, 1890s-1980s
Baker & Rouse began their Victorian retail operations at 260 Collins Street which not only sold Austral and Baker & Rouse products, but was registered as a sole distributor of imported American Eastman Kodak products in 1896 (Beale, p 48). Baker & Rouse acquired the British-owned Kodak Limited store in the Block Arcade, 284 Collins Street, around 1905 and for a time, these two stores ran in ...
Vintage Melbourne in Black & White
The first George's store, known as George & George, was built on the north side of Collins St between Swanston and Elizabeth Sts. It was destroyed by fire on Friday 13th September 1889.