Explore William Faulkner, Reading Lists, and more!

Signifies something. . .

The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner | PenguinRandomHouse.com

Three Famous Short Novels

Three Famous Short Novels

Three Famous Short Novels: Spotted Horses / Old Man / The Bear

w faulkner... light in august

William Faulkner: Light in August Check out the new Better Book Titles book.

13 "Top 100 Books" Lists combined.    Great Gatsby, ok, but really The Grapes of Wrath??? It gets better, I promise.

13 "Top 100 Books" lists combined and condensed in to one master list, for the benefit of your reading pleasure. 623 books in all -- a lifetime of reading potential!

Banido em vários estados. Em 1972, foi proibido em Strongsville, Ohio (derrubado em 1976), em 1974 foi proibido em Dallas, Texas, e em 1979 foi proibido em Snoqualmie, Washington

'Catch-22': A Paradox Turns 50 And Still Rings True

January, 2012 - 1984

1984 by George Orwell. Another very eerie dystopian novel that in many ways mirrors the direction in which our society is headed.

David Foster Wallace - Infinite Jest ..... the challenging,  phantasmagorical North American dystopia pictured in the 1,079-page magnum opus by a possible genius writer.

Infinite Jest - by David Foster Wallace - A gargantuan, mind-altering comedy about the Pursuit of Happiness in America set in an addicts' halfway house and a tennis academy featuring the most endearingly screwed-up family to come along in recent fiction

I liked the book, the first in the Maggie Hope books, which I kind of read backwards. It is light reading and interesting.  An author has to do a lot of research to write a book about another time, that's for sure.  I want to read the real story, now, by Elizabeth Layton Nel, who was really Churchill's secretary from 1941-1945.

Churchill's Secretary - by Susan Elia MacNeal - For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it.

Catch-22 - I once saw someone describing the book on tumblr say that "reading catch-22 was like watching M*A*S*H after dropping acid." Perfect description. Seriously, it's gruesome and hilarious at the same time, one moment you're laughing, and the next someone dies. Pure genius. (Note: story is NOT in chronological order. Found that out the hard way..)

The Fascinating Stories Behind Classic Book Titles

This is next on the reading list. I've read the entire series, and have been patiently waiting for the latest.

Patricia Cornwell is one of my top 5 most favorite authors. The Scarpetta series is awesome so if you want a good series to read start with her first book "Postmortem".

East of Eden (11-27-2016 - 01-23-2017) ****

27 books based on 19 votes: Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell, It by Stephen King, East of Eden by John Steinbeck, Little Women by Louisa May Alcot.

My favorite Austen. I think Pride and Prejudice is written better, but I love the story of Persuasion.

My favorite Austen. I think Pride and Prejudice is written better, but I love the story of Persuasion.

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami. Buy this eBook on #Kobo: http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/The-Wind-Up-Bird-Chronicle/book-EFHuJ96QpkmAyyisN2iMfg/page1.html

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle ebook by Haruki Murakami - Rakuten Kobo

Pinterest
Search